Caveat

So starting with a Disney quote probably isn’t the most creative way to start a blog I know, but honestly this whole thing is so exciting, daunting, and overwhelmingly awesome that I want to make sure I unlock all the potential possibilities for it.  That being said, that’s kind of a high standard.  Are you going to get my best writing all the time?  I really do hope so.  Sometimes I’m not feeling the language gods smiling on me, but at the very least, I will give you my word that I will think long and hard about each and every post and attempt to put my thoughts as eloquently as possible.   (See the picture of one of my absolute favorite quotes-yes I saw it originally on Pinterest, yes I am a Pinner, yes I am mildly addicted).5609fe8170c1a34be9137422d2dbcc61  I am just obsessed with words.  Words are my passion!  You can create whatever you want with them and make yourself whoever you want to be with them.  They are the ultimate tool of imagination.

In regards to criticism, I think we find the messages we are looking for.  It is totally possible for me to look at any given film and call it wonderful or sexist or something else entirely whether it is my opinion or not.  I want to make this blog as objective and wonderful and insightful as possible!   I am very excited to explore the realm of film (past and present) and will do all you film lovers proud!

Last, but certainly not least, ‘m not starting this blog with the clouded vision of negativity towards the role of women in film.  Since I am a woman who will be hopefully be entering the world of cinema in one way or another, this blog is purely a project driven by curiosity and not hate or wanting to uncover the underground sexist implications of our society.  I am pretty pleased with the world and I have faith in humanity!

Thank you for putting up with my random burst of thoughts as I’m sure this won’t be the last.  But for a little while, I will do some scholarly work (promise).

Comments, thoughts, reactions, inspiration!