OriGINAl Insight

My entry to the Team Oscar competition! Team Oscar presents an opportunity for college students interested in impacting the future of film to win a trip to the Oscars. To enter, a basic information form, short essay question, and 60-second video explaining how you plan to impact the future of film must be completed.
For this video, I was extremely inspired by this blog (watch for my shout out near the end!!) and while the competition may have said it was only for filmmakers, I wanted to share that the future of film lays not only in filmmakers’ hands, but in their criticisms as well.
I think that this stretching of the rules will either be hugely beneficial or detrimental. I am doing something radically different than they really asked for, so fingers crossed it pays off!
Women in the film industry are unfortunately pretty rare whether they are behind the camera, or behind the pen that critiques it. It is my hope that through this blog I not only spread the belief that criticism does not deserve the negative connotations it commonly must burden, but that the role of women throughout film history is worth studying as the transformation of the female gender has undergone fascinating transformations in the filmic world.
**The beauty of this video must be contributed to Kendra Petersen and thus KNC Productions and Leigh-Ann Morris Collett who cultivated my creativity and pushed me to voice my passion for film. Also, thanks must be given to Chester Collett who not only helped with production, but braved the snow to replace light bulbs. The final product is definitely a collaboration between all those mentioned above as well as Karisa Collett, Dylan Cavanagh, and Regitze Christiansen who all fostered my vision and left me absolutely breathless at the work of art we all created! Wonderful job everyone and I cannot thank you enough!!!**

Comments, thoughts, reactions, inspiration!